top of page

Reflections- COMM 368


Even Though my experience with my internship did not yield the experience that I had envisioned, I did benefit in many other ways. Being a non-traditional student, much older than the average student, I have already been in an established career for over 20 years. As an entrepreneur for two decades, being my own boss and supervisor, the internship gave me an appreciation for being an employee again. The internship prepared me for accountability to a supervisor, having tasks that weren’t assignment by me and having hours of employment.

I think in my situation, I would have been better prepared to have somehow been able to contact someone who may have been through the internship program in the department that I signed up for “Talent Management” and perhaps had learned that they didn’t have as much to offer as far as learning skills or a formal program such as the Audio and the Video department did.

I must say that the team at my internship was the absolute BEST, they were all very cordial and welcoming and treated me with the highest respect. While I was participating in my internship my growth primarily was in learning how to be an employee, learning how to take work orders and to fulfill requirements wasn’t an easy adjustment. I think my research skills grew as well as utilizing Microsoft software including Excel and Word. These are skills that needed polishing up on and the internship gave me the opportunity to do so as well use my current skills as a hair & makeup artist while working on one of my internship’s commercial video shoots.

I definitely have a great tool to show potential employers of a collection of the body of work I can produce, from writing samples, to video producing, interviewing and even planning on including videos and samples of my hair, makeup and styling work to show the complete and total picture of what I can offer. I think with my career goals being so broad, the ePortfolio gives me a better advantage over a standard resume. The ability to send a website of sorts including information in all media types including video, photo images and written words gives me the opportunity to maximize the display of my skills,


Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page